An early week Lunar Duo adventure

Andy and I had talked and planned doing a local overnighter on the bikes for some time now.  We weren’t quite sure when it was going to happen but we were both certain that it was going to happen!  Once a suitable window of opportunity presented itself the two of us did not waste much time in coming up with a location and importantly, a sensitive, responsible and exciting approach route right over the top of a local peak we have ridden together and with other friends over the years.

By the time we reached our spot for the evening we both agreed that it felt as if we had been riding much further than 8 miles with 1400 ft of ascent on our loaded bikes.  Neither of us wasted much time in getting our kit sorted, a brew on and in my case pitching my brand new tent for the first time.

Over cups of tea and tins of IPA we enjoyed the vegetarian chili that I had prepared and brought along in a clever sealable, silicone food bag given to me by a couple of friends.  The chili did go well with the tortilla wraps but there was no need to add any more spice or bite to it!

For this local overnighter I had chosen to bring my Trangia meths burner with its lightweight wind shield/base and it was especially nice to prepare our evening meal without the roar of a gas stove.

Shortly before Andy revealed our dessert we were treated to some late evening, low rays of sun.  Andy managed to get across to the top of the glen to capture a beautiful shot; whereas I settled for a closer photo of the orange glow on the branches of a nearby Scots Pine.  Afterwards with no rush to return home we enjoyed a good yarn well into the dark of night before turning in.

We had both expected rain and winds most of the night and were certainly prepared for a wet start to the day.  Fortunately the overnight rain did not come to much even though the wind was strong at times.

Andy prepared us Lorne sausage and tattie scones – ‘The Breakfast of Kings’ whilst I produced even more strong coffee from the aeropress.  Once suitably replete we loaded up our bike luggage and headed down the track for home.

In the mid-morning I treated myself to even more coffee and some cake at the hotel across the road.  After that I finally got round to de-rigging my bike which according to the poster in our garage was in ‘dirt touring’ mode.  Wonder what mode it will be next time?

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star