A Classic Liathach Traverse, two young climbers start their journey and more mountain biking fun.

image

Last week I had three very different outings on the ridges, crags and trails of Torridon, a place I am able to call my home.
Barbara and her companion Charles wanted to traverse Liathach as part of their respective quests for the Munros and Munro Tops. I had the pleasure of making this possible on an absolutely perfect autumn’s day. We agreed to set off early to make the most of wonderful light that this time of year brings. My Canon G10 joined us and I am particularly pleased with one shot which picks out the intricacies of the ridge and The Torridon – once again hosting the Torridon Mountain & Sea Festival.
Early on the traverse we encountered iced up quartzite on north facing slopes; so although my clients were experienced hill goers the rope was used by me twice.
Clear of the main ridge an Top ticked it was a straightforward walk to the second Munro of the day before a smooth descent to the glen.
I wish Barbara all the best with her last few Cairngorm Munros.

Later in the week Lizbeth accompanied me and her two boys: Louis & Alexander to Beginners Slabs near Wester Alligin.  The lads had expressed an interest to be ‘high up’ and ‘to be challenged ‘. With the added attraction of a world class view over Loch Torridon they had an unforgettable morning.  Two climbs in series each followed by an abseil with some coaching of footwork to finish off before lunch at Gille Brigde, Diabaig.

I had a quick change into biking gear at home, a sandwich and then headed to The Torridon Inn to lead a free ride out to Balgy. My wife had also kindly offered to help along with my own family.  Alison was here for the ‘festival as well which brought the total with Jem & Ellie up to 11 riders. My chosen
route showcases some of the best trail riding in the area with a chance to catch glimpses of bigger riding challenges ‘up the hill’.

I hope my three outings have helped everyone on their way to more adventures on ridges, crags and trails…

Leave a Reply

